Teaching at the Money School

A few weeks ago, a colleague of mine invited me to join the Money School in Connecticut as an instructor.  Always happy to help, I accepted gleefully.  However, my enthusiasm soon turned to fret when I was informed my first class would be a 3 hour tutorial on budgeting.  Now, I have spoken for several hours at a time on a variety of topics, but never on a single subject such as budgeting.  Needless to say, I got to work creating a presentation which would satisfy the time requirements and, hopefully, be somewhat entertaining.

When I showed up at the Jubilee House on Saturday morning, I was greeted warmly by the sisters who run the adult education center.  As the new students began their orientation, I set up my equipment and said a brief prayer that things went off without a hitch. Well, I have to say this was one of the most engaging groups I’ve ever had the pleasure to work with.  The class was diversified, including small business owners and everyday folks who had a passion to command a better understanding of their finances.  Because we had such great interaction, I actually had to shorten my presentation to accommodate.

Several of the participants requested that I forward them the PowerPoint presentation I created as it contained embedded videos which discussed various portions of the budgeting process in detail.  At first, I wasn’t sure how to accomplish this; however, I found a fantastic service online.  With that in mind, I thought it would be good to share with everyone.  To access the Developing a Spending Plan presentation, please follow this link. I believe the curriculum can benefit not only those who wish to adjust their Spending Plan, but also for those who may wish to conduct their own seminar within the community.  So, please use it as you will.  If anybody has any questions regarding the presentation, please do not hesitate to contact me at 413-241-2362.

I’m very much looking forward to returning to the Jubilee House next week as the class will be on credit.  We will discuss credit reports, scores and the various ways to establish and maintain your profile. I will post the presentation upon completion as well.  Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

