Your Tax Refund Can Change Your Life

It’s tax season again and many of us are eagerly anticipating a refund.  In 2012, the average American received a $2700 return from the federal government. I don’t know about you, but that’s a lot of money.  We’re all human, and I’m sure a lot of you are thinking about buying a brand-new HDTV, or getting your hands on the latest smartphone. Hey, I get it. It’s important to do nice things for yourself, but it’s equally important to create financial stability – it’s probably the nicest thing you can do for yourself.  When I was starting out, it was tough to make ends meet. I remember stressing week to week about making my bill payments, or even affording groceries. I think back and regret the fact that I never had an emergency fund, let alone a savings account. When I think of my tax refund, my thoughts go to how can I save it, or use it to keep my mind at ease. Many of my thoughts and captured by Jodi Grundig in her 5 Smart Family Things to Do With Your Tax Refund article. She outlines practical uses, as well as a few fun options. I also encourage you to search Google for other ways to put your tax return to work.  You never know what good ideas you’ll find on the Internet.

Until next time, I’m Thomas Fox to Cambridge Credit Counseling.

Leave a Reply

